I’m gifts and words of affirmation, what are you?

Today I’m going to inspire you to figure out your love language. I learned about our our love languages a few years back. I’m not sure where I heard it first, but that’s not important. The only thing really matters is that I found it and it was glorious information, and I now I get to share it with you.
There’s this guy named Gary Chapman who wrote a book about love. It was another book that’s so full of useful information, that it changes your life. In the book we get to learn the 5 different ways that people need to be loved. If your not interested in reading the book, take the test online. You can google it.
There are simple questions with 2 choices for the answer. You choose the one that fits you best. So it turns out my top 2 love languages are my husbands last 2, and vice versa. So that means we don’t need to be loved the same. We are actually quite different. Your love language is established as a child and it can even change as you change.  
The most valuable part of all of this, is that we try to love people the way we want to be loved, instead of the way they want to be loved. For example my love language is gifts, so I would buy my husband things, and I thought it would show him that I love him. But his love language is quality time, so he doesn’t feel love from my gifts. A frustration could then occur because I felt like I was trying, but he wasn’t really receiving it.  
We all have a love tank that goes along with these different languages. Gary describes it as bank that you make deposits and withdrawals from. There are times in our lives when our love tanks are completely empty, and they need refilled. Then there other times, when they are overflowing with love.  
This takes a little time to understand and get the hang of. Be patient with yourself, it’s something new, but it’s super exciting!
We must first learn our own language, then we should learn our partners language. I’m going to go one step further and ask you to learn your child’s language. They have special books and tests for the little ones as well.  
Once you have figured out your language, read about it and see if it resonates with you. We must give people what they need to feel loved. There’s no right or wrong here. Once we learn these things, a whole new world is going to open up. A new understanding into yourself and into those you love.
If you want to work on yourself and your relationships, this is an excellent place to start. Take the test online and go from there! 
Share your thoughts with me and what you learn along the way. I can’t wait to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s